Jonathan inaugurates conference committee

President Goodluck Jonathan, Monday, inaugurated the 13-man Advisory Committee to establish modalities for a national conference aimed at resolving issues that currently cause friction in the polity.

Speaking during the inauguration held at the State House, Abuja , Jonathan charged the members of the committee to consult widely before developing the framework that will guide the proceedings of the dialogue.

According to him: ” In the task before you, no voice is too small and no opinion is irrelevant. Thus, the views of the sceptics and those of the enthusiasts must be accommodated as you formulate this all important framework. This Conversation is a People’s Conversation and I urge you to formulate an all-inclusive process that protects the people’s interest.”
Jonathan had in a nationwide broadcast to mark the nation’s 53rd independence anniversary, announced the committee headed Dr. Femi Okurounmu and Dr. Akilu Indabawa as its secretary.

The committee has 11 other members. They are : Prof. George Obiozor,Sen. Khairat Gwadabe, Sen. Timothy Adudu, Col. Tony Nyiam (Rtd), Prof. Funke Adebayo,Mrs Mairo Ahmed Amshi, Dr. Abubakar Sadiq, Alh. Dauda Birma, Mallam Buhari Bello, Mr. Tony Uranta and Prof. Ben Nwabueze who, yesterday, opted out of the committee.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: